What I want you to know

I want you to know; I get it. Kids can be mean; they can make you feel like you are completely alone in this world with nothing to offer it. Muddle (middle) school can be the most vicious battlefield ever created by man with as much causality as war. I want you to know that these tumultuous years don’t last forever and in the grand scheme of your own masterpiece they really don’t matter, that is unless you let them.
I want you to know that you are never alone, and that you have so much to offer this world. Your life is just beginning and you get to decide who you are and are going to be, no one can do that for you that is unless you let them.
I want you to know that you that you have courage inside of you that is unmatched. Most adults, let alone kids are afraid to put themselves out there and be who they really are. Not you, your drum beats loud and you dance your own dance and for right now you may a price for that but in the long run it will bring you joy and fulfillment that you can only imagine.
How do I know this? You teach me this everyday; you inspire me to be who I really am to not hide behind shadows of conformity and other people’s expectations. You teach me patience and grace I never knew existed until you came along.
Most of all what I really want you to know is how proud I am too be your dad, more importantly how proud I am of you, not because you get good grades and stay out of trouble but because you are you and all the great things that come with that. So hold on, keep your head up and never stop dancing to that drum!

Leave a Reply

